Skip to content

Grocery List: Mexican Grocery Store

March 22, 2011

I so love to visit small ethnic grocery stores and explore and get food that I don’t see at normal supermarkets. Here is a list of some of my favorite products to get at Mexican grocery stores.

Goat milk lollipops! As a lover of all things caramel, these are one of my favorite candies. A creamy, dulce-de-leche like hard caramel.

Speaking of Dulce de Leche… Yes, you can buy sweetened condensed milk at any grocery store and make your own. But Mexican grocery stores have it already made to perfection in cans! If you don’t want to just eat it with a spoon (although, why wouldn’t you?!?), you can make these cookies.

Tapatio hot sauce. The BEST hot sauce around, yet I never see it at American supermarkets.

Nopalitos… cactus! This is a tasty side dish right out of the jar or can.

Le Morena chipotles. Okay okay, you can buy chipotles in most supermarkets, but I am just totally smitten with the label on this brand. I use chipotles quite often. Like in these shrimp tacos.

Pigeon peas. Another delicious option for a simple, out-of-the-can side dish.

Mexican oregano. This isn’t your Nonna’s oregano. Mexican oregano has a more intense flavor… more floral, more fragrant. It’s one of my “secret” ingredients for simple bean burritos… it gives your recipes that “what is that flavor?” aspect. I usually get the non-ground variety, because I love rubbing and crushing it between my palms to release it’s fantastic fragrance.

Masa flour and corn husks for making tamales. One of my favorite weekend project meals… see here and here.

What do you always buy at the Mexican grocery store?

For more Mexican food fun, check out FBM’s Cinco De Mayo round-up from last year!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 2:11 pm

    Those lollipops sounds yummy! I’ll have to check them out. Great list!

  2. April 1, 2011 4:17 pm

    I would LOVE to live near a Mexican grocery store. It’s so hard to find chipotle chillies around here.

Trackbacks

  1. Grocery List: Asian Grocery Store (Japanese) « Food Blog Mafia

Leave a Reply

