Skip to content

There is ALWAYS room for pie….

September 27, 2010

Can pie change your life? I believe it can. Let’s be honest…when pie is good…it can be REALLY GOOD…and when it’s bad, well, we won’t talk about that.

I have always loved baking pies. It started when I was younger and I would help my grandmother bake sour cherry pies with fruit fresh from our backyard cherry tree. She used a fairly unconventional pie crust recipe…calling for oil instead of butter. I remember her having trouble rolling it out…we did a lot of “piecing it together”. Despite them being “ugly” as she would always say, they tasted wonderful. My favorite part was where the top crust would pull away from the crimped edge and the sweet/sour cherry filling would bubble up and carmelize….the chewy sweetness with the crunch of the crust underneath resonates in my flavor memory.

Jump ahead a couple years and I started reading cookbooks. Found out that you need to use butter when making pie crust and was swiftly placed in charge of all crust making in my grandmother’s kitchen. Now, don’t get me wrong, my grandmother is an amazing cook…she can roll a mean grapeleaf and bake the best Lebanese bread this side of the Mississipi…but pie crust was always something that she struggled with. I blame the bad recipe she got….not her skills.

So, now that Fall is upon us, I can’t wait to heat up the stove and get baking. We had guests over last night for dinner. I made a lovely curry with chicken thighs, cauliflower and peas…but that is a story for another post. I needed a dessert….I had a butternut squash. Then it hit me…..we eat pumkin in pie form…why not butternut squash! OMG…I’m a CULINARY GENIUS!

Now, I know I’m not the first person to think of this….I’m sure of it…but let me bask in the notion that I was creative for a minute.  I looked up my grandmother’s pumpkin pie recipe and tweaked it to fit what I had on hand: butternut squash, some fresh ginger and cinnamon sticks left over from the curry and a quart of heavy cream and eggs.

Here is the recipe I used:

One medium roasted butternut squash, pureed. Yielded  a little over one cup.

One cup of heavy cream

3 Eggs

One cup of sugar

A one inch knob of fresh ginger grated

Two pulverized cinnamon sticks…was about 2 tsps…or so. I added enough to reach my desired cinnamon-ess.

Pinch of salt

Whizzed it all up in the food processer and poured into an unbaked pate brisee crust.

Baked at 425 degrees for 10 minutes. Lowered to 300 and baked another 55.

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was the BEST PIE I HAVE EVER HAD. Topped it with maple whipped cream (easy: whip cream with pure maple syrup)

It was light, airy and delicious. So much better than pumpkin….I swear I will never make pumpkin pie if butternut squash is available to me.

And it was even better the next morning out of the fridge. It did become slightly more dense overnight but I still loved it…loved it with all my pie loving heart.

Try it…try it right now!!!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dexter permalink
    January 18, 2011 5:16 pm

    Great post! Thanks for the recipe… sounds like a great one to try. I thought the line, “Can pie change your life?” was an interesting one, since I recently had a similar experience. Not long ago, I tried the recipe for Double Chocolate Cookies, which was given to me by a friend of mine at Sunset 44 Bistro. I thought I’d share since you seem to be quite the dessert lover!

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

