Skip to content

Happy Birthday Julia!

August 14, 2010

Tomorrow is Julia Child’s birthday! The FBM are big fans of this amazing woman… her love of food, her sass, her delight, her passion for learning. She was the epitome of strong, awesome, loveable female. Over the years, the members of FBM have sung her praises and tried to honor her memory by cooking her recipes and reading her books. Here is a collection of our Julia moments..

“If you’re afraid of butter, just use cream.”

• Kelly started blogging after being inspired by the book Julie & Julia. She wrote about it in this post, where she makes Julia’s potato Leek soup.

• Appropriately, Kel got the chance to go to LA for the premier of the movie version of Julie & Julia, where she got to meet Julie Powell. She elaborates on Julie, Julia, and blogging in this post.

• While Kel was at said premier, she was asked to go on TV to talk about the movie from a food blogger’s point of view. Since she was in LA, and the tv show was in St. Louis, she kindly referred them to me (Steph). Here’s my big daytime television moment!

• Kelli made Julia’s famous Beef Bourguignon for one of her Novice Foodie posts.

Lobster Thermidore

Kelly tackled Lobster Thermidore, another one of Julia’s more famous recipes.

• Annie wrote about her feelings after reading Julia’s autobiography My Life in France.

Can you tell I'm excited? I'm terrible at showing my feelings :p

• Speaking of feelings, mine were overwhelming when I got to visit Julia’s kitchen at the Smithsonian in Washington DC earlier this year. A Mecca for any Julia fanatic. I gushed a bit about it in this post about my trip.

As you can see, Julia is one of the FBMs’ biggest inspirations. So Happy Birthday Julia! We raise our sticks of butter and glasses of Gin to you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 3:07 pm

    You are so cute! Keep gushing it is good for life. I am a foodie … but lost my sense of smell and taste during an illness for the first 6 months of this year. So … I watched the movie. I really loved it. It made me smile. And yes, she was a class act.

  2. Tracy permalink
    August 16, 2010 4:07 am

    I just finished reading My Life in France today (what a coincidence!). It was great, although I’m glad I finished it b/c I think I gained 10 lbs. while reading it. Every page made me hungry!

Leave a Reply

