Skip to content

float trip beers

June 16, 2010

In Missouri we are really into float trips. I don’t think this term, “float trip” is a nationally known term, so let me explain. A float trip is when a group of people float down a river, usually 6-10 miles, on rafts, canoes or kayaks. This usually involves camping, swimming, and public drunkenness. Possibly nudity. And usually sunburned thighs. Hopefully NOT duelling banjos. ahem.

You will now commonly see bachelor and bachelorette party float trips, company float trips (why would you want to see your co workers drunk and in swimming suits?!?!), etc. My family has done a big float trip every year since I can remember. The kids stay behind and the adults act like big kids.

Float trip drinking is easy for anyone who is happy with the likes of Bud/Coors/miller products, because they are readily available in cans. No glass bottles are allowed on the river, you see, for safety reasons. They have also just banned the float trip staple, Jello shots, because of the amount of litter the little plastic cups caused. So what about us who cannot stomach the drab, watery, instant-headache-inducing canned beer? Luckily, lots of craft beers are starting to can their beers!

Canned craft beers? Do you scoff at this idea? Is this like boxed wine? Well, here’s the thing… canned beer doesn’t mean bad beer. In fact canning beer has a lot of benefits. Check out this informative post about it on STL Hops.

Last year, my float trip beer of choice was Caldera’s IPA. Oh, how I love me some IPA. My favorite joke is “I like my beer like I like my men. Bitter.” This was a good float trip beer because the bitterness is crisp, therefore refreshing and cooling. A wallop of flavor without being heavy.

This year I went with Ska Brewing‘s ESB. Also a bitter-ish beer, though not as intense as the Caldera. I also took along some O’Fallon Wheach cans. Those were good at first, but the sweet heavy wheat became more prominent once it warmed up, which beers do quickly when you are sipping them on a raft in a river on a 95º day.

It is fantastic that these craft brewers are starting to can beers. If only for the pure benefit of snobby floaters like myself. What is your favorite canned beer?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. davbak permalink
    June 16, 2010 2:39 pm

    *Ahem* It should be noted that not ALL Missouri float trips are party barge type affairs. There are also the more laid back paddling trips where some of the MO’s most beautiful scenery is the main focus and the beer buzz is secondary. 😉

  2. June 18, 2010 1:03 pm

    Sounds like you’ve had a blast in years past. For the crowd that is trying to avoid A/B products, the introduction of more and more craft beer in cans is just terrific.

    The Jello shot thing is unfortunate, but I understand why they did it. Those things worked like beads at Mardi Gras, if you know what I mean…

Leave a Reply

