Skip to content

Banana Pudding or Something Like It

March 2, 2010

The other day I teased a friend for his contribution of KFC cole slaw to a potluck populated by food enthusiasts. I did this because this person is known as a staunch advocate for slow food, and because I know that almost everyone who celebrates real ingredients and lambasts processed foods has at least one weak spot, a special comfort food that, despite being against many of their food ethics, reminds them of childhood or is so damn good, they put aside their habits to indulge. We Food Blog Mafia ladies semi-ho’made it up at our sleepover last year, when we made such cream cheese-laden foods as hot wing dip and Philly dip (see Superbowl recipes).

Then there are people who stake their entire career on foods like this, but that’s neither here nor there.

So I’m disclosing a dirty little secret that I’ve been sneaking spoonfuls of for two days straight. Truth be told, it’s not even a childhood favorite, and I could make every component from scratch and probably will at some point, but I know it will probably not be the same.  There’s something about Jello vanilla pudding, its eerily-fluorescent yellow glow, it’s tooth-aching sweetness, it’s connection to the elusive Jello Pudding Pops of my youth, that is cathartic, no matter what incantation it takes. Jello pudding permeates this dessert, which is so damn simple I can’t even call it a recipe, although I suggest you make your own whipped cream. This doesn’t touch the banana pudding I had at Monarch last summer on my birthday–really, it’s apples and oranges. But you should make it. The Nilla wafers get all mushy and soft and the bananas trick you into believing it’s remotely healthy. I don’t know about you, but I like a healthy dose of delusion with my sugar-laden treats.  Just make sure to brush your teeth afterwards.

Easy Banana Pudding

One large box Jello Instant Pudding

Three cups cold milk

About 2/3  box Nilla Wafer minis (or regular Nilla Wafers, but these are bite sized) (reserve a handful)

Three bananas

One pint whipping cream

1/2 vanilla bean, insides scraped out

granulated sugar to taste

Assembly Instructions (because, let’s be honest, that’s what this is)

  1. Slice bananas into 1/4″ or so slices
  2. Alternately layer sliced bananas with Nilla Minis in 8×8 dish (wafers, ‘nanas, wafers, ‘nanas)
  3. Whisk pudding mix into milk until smooth.
  4. Before it sets, pour pudding mixture over bananas and wafers.
  5. Whip whipping cream with sugar and vanilla bean scrapings until stiff peaks form.
  6. Top banana pudding with whipped cream and reserved wafers, crumbled.
  7. Chill in fridge until you can’t stand waiting anymore.
  8. Plan on taking a photo for your blog, but forget because you take a bite.

You can store it in your fridge, but ours doesn’t last long.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 12:24 pm

    I love the Sandra “Does this shirt match my blender and where the hell is my drink” Lee reference.

  2. Susan permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:14 pm

    I have not been able to eat Banana Pudding Parfait since the incident where I was working at BJC and coming out of the cafeteria, several adolescent girls tried to jump me for my BPP (They incorrectly thought it was ice cream. I infer this because one of them said “Bitch, give me that ice cream.”). I yelled for security and ran. Bitches didn’t get my parfait.
    The purpose of this comment is to inform you that if you made me BPP, I might be able to start to do some of the emotional work necessary to get over the trauma. Be a friend, Kelli.

Leave a Reply

